2016 Mobile Ad Certification Guide

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Basic and advanced mobile advertising; including ad formats, bidding and targeting, and campaign measurement and optimization. Learn about the mobile consumer, how you can meet your advertising objectives using mobile, and the importance of mobile site and app design.


Chapter 1: Why is Mobile Important? 

Mobile customers are different from desktop.  The exam focused on a lot of numbers.  I’ll start with this one: between 2011 and 2013 mobile in the US grew from 36% to 61%.  Tablet ownership also grew and became mainstream.  Customers can now access the internet anywhere.  The trend towards smartphones is a trend you want to be on the right side of.

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More than just the mobile customer, you have to consider the local mobile customer.  Some areas such as chain restaurants, big box retailers, and grocery stores employ a flood of mobile apps.

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There is a great opportunity for advertisers to reach customers.  However the path to conversion is different.  This is due to differing screen size, functionality, and context.  All three are different from the traditional desktop.  As in all marketing, you have two options: adapt or be left behind.


Q: The path to conversion on mobile is different from desktop why?

A: Screen size, functionality, and context.

Q: According to a Nielsen study, customers purchased what percentage within an hour of mobile searches with initiated them?

A: 50%

G: “According to the study, 50% of purchase-related conversions happened within an hour of the mobile searches that initiated them.” – mobileplaybook.com

Q: What time of day is mobile usage the highest?

A: Evening hours when people are at home.

G: “App usage peaks at 8pm” – Localytics

Q: When understanding the full value of mobile to your marketing campaign what must you take into account?

A: Calls, store visits, app downloads, cross device conversion, mobile conversion, etc.

Q: 50% of purchase related conversions occur how many hours after a mobile search?

A: One hour.

G: “According to the study, 50% of purchase-related conversions happened within an hour of the mobile searches that initiated them.” – mobileplaybook.com

Q: Does mobile present a more targeted marketing message?

A: Yes.

G: “When, where, and how a customer can search for your products has grown exponentially. Mobile devices empower consumers with many new moments for search and discovery, and in turn, many new opportunities for customers to connect with your brand. At Google, we have observed that tablet and computer usage peaks in the evening hours at home. In contrast, mobile usage is spread more evenly throughout the day and thus across many more contexts, whether it’s occurring on-the-go, during working hours, or at home. In fact, while mobile is often associated with on-the-go usage, a recent Nielsen study estimated that 68% of mobile searches actually occur at home where there are other larger screen devices readily available. What’s more, new research from over 300 internal Google studies indicates that 88% of clicks on mobile search ads are incremental to organic clicks. In certain industries, this number can be as high as 97%.”

Q: Why does Mobile present a more targeted message?

A: The advertiser has an understanding of context such as time, location and proximity of the customer.

G: “When companies talk about the opportunity mobile presents, often they are referring to the opportunity context presents. A better understanding of context, the specific circumstances in which your customers seek you out, such as time, location, and even proximity, allows your marketing message to be more targeted, meaningful, and successful.”

Q: An advertiser can use AdWords mobile offering to do what?

A: Advertise their app, engage users who already downloaded the app, and track conversions once a user downloads the app.

Q: An advertiser would not use AdWords for mobile for what?

A: To build a website… it doesn’t do this.

Q: What are apps more greater towards?

A: Apps are more geared towards retention, loyalty, and engagement than acquisition.

Q: Is having a large touch large important for mobile sites?

A: Yes due to lack of precision from touch screens.

Q: What can you use a mobile specific display URL for?

A: You can indicate that you have a mobile friendly landing page.

Q: Should mobile websites be stripped down versions of desktop sites?

A: No.  Bad idea.

Q: What are keys to mobile optimized sites?

A: They should offer a mobile friendly experience including easy navigation, quick to load images, and streamlined text.

Q: Should you build your app before your mobile site?

A: Generally no.

Q: Will visitors to your mobile optimized site be at the same point of the conversion funnel as visitors to a desktop site?

A: No.


Chapter 2: Mobile Terminology. 

Let’s go over some commonly use mobile terminology. It will fun… I promise.

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Deep Linking: in the mobile sense deep linking is when you link to a specific location within a mobile app instead of linking just to the app itself.  Using Wiki’s example:

 exampleApp://location/123 is a deep link while

 exampleApp:// is the typical link used.

Q:  What does Deep-linking allow?

A: Deep Linking can be used in ads to direct potential customers to more targeted sections of your app.  It can be used for both new and old customers.

Q: What allows you to specific a location in an app to correspond with the content you wish to show?

A: Deep link.

G: “Deep linking allows the Google+ app on mobile devices to direct clicks on a shared post that contains deep link information to a resource within your mobile app if the user has it installed. If the user does not have your app installed, they are prompted to install it before accessing the resource. Deep linking can be used on shared basic posts and shared interactive posts.”


Right Mobile Bid: This is a simple equation offered by Google that uses Google mobile conversion rate and desktop conversion rate.

Q: What is the formula for the right mobile bid according to Google?

A; (mobile conversion rate / desktop conversion rate) – 1

G: “Set your mobile bid based on the value mobile generates. Find this by dividing your mobile conversion rate by your desktop conversion rate. Follow the steps below:

1.  From the Campaigns tab, click Segment and choose Device.

2.  Choose campaigns with enough data for consistent results (90 days and more than 20 conversions on both Mobile and Computer).

3.  Find Computer conversion rate and mobile conversion rate using Estimated Total Conversions column.

4.  Divide mobile conversion rate by computer conversion rate -1

    For example:

•  Mobile conversion rate = 4.43%

•  Computer conversion rate = 3.96%

•  (4.43% / 3.96%) -1 = 0.118 = 12%

For this example, the best way to capture the most value from mobile is to set the mobile bid adjustment at +12%.”


Conversion Tracker: A tool that can help you determine what happens after a customer clicks on your ads.  You can determine if that customer makes a purchase or downloads the app.

Q: What tool shows you what happens after a customer clicks on your ad?  And what does this tool show?

A: Conversion tracker shows what happens after a customer clicks on your ad: did they make a purchase, did they download the app, or if they made a phone call.

G: “Conversion tracking is a free tool that shows you what happens after a customer clicks on your ads — whether they purchased your product, signed up for your newsletter or filled out a form to receive more information.”


Mobile App Analytics Acquisition Report: This can give you data on how often your mobile apps are installed and opened.

Q: What type of data would the Mobile App Analytics Acquisition report provide you?

A: It would tell you how often your mobile apps are installed and opened.  It will not tell you how to find the lowest cpa.  It will not tell your users spend time outside of the app.

G: “Use the Acquisition reports to discover how users arrive at your web site and how often your app is downloaded and installed. You can also use these reports to learn more about your traffic – if they arrive directly to your site or use a search engine – and how successful certain marketing campaigns are in attracting users. Learn more about Acquisitions for the web and for mobile apps.”


App Remarketing: This allows you to target users who already installed your app.

Q: Who does App remarking allow you to target?

A: People who have used your app before.

G: “App remarketing allows you to target users who already have your app installed with ads that can help drive additional usage. Some uses for app remarketing include:

•    Show app engagement ads announcing a new feature to current users of your app.

•    Remind users who had downloaded your app but haven’t been using it recently.

•    Encourage users to upgrade to the latest version of your app.”


Mobile App Analytic Behavior Reports: This report tracks the ways your users interact with your app.

Q:  What sort of data does Mobile App Analytics Behavior Reports give you?

A: It will help you discover how users interact with your app.

G: “The Behavior reports help you discover how users interact your app. You can use this set of reports to track a wide range of information about your users, including:

•    the total number of screens seen per session

•    the order in which screens are viewed

•    the number of technical errors, including app crashes

•    how long individual app elements take to load”


App Engagement Ad: A way for advertisers to reach people who already have the app.

Q: What can app engagement ads help you with?

A: It can show customized ads to users who already have the app in order to create further engagement with the app.

G: “”Mobile app engagement” campaigns are a great choice for advertisers focused on connecting with people who already have their app. These ads can:

•     Encourage users to try your app again

•     Remind someone to open your app and take a specific action

•     Help people complete an activity they already started

•      Increase how often people use your app

•      Recommend someone try out specific features or levels”


AdMod: A platform owned by google to help grow app businesses.

Q: What is AdMob?

A: It is a platform for analyzing, monetizing, and promoting apps online.

G:”AdMob brings together best-in-class technology in a single platform, so you can gain insights about your usersdrive more in-app purchases, and maximize your ad revenue. No longer will you have to rely on a combination of tools or use precious development resources to build your own solution”


Ad Extensions: Shows a link below your ad to your mobile or tablet app.

Q: What are App extensions?

A: They are a type of ad format which shows extra information about your business.

G: “App extensions showcase your mobile or tablet app by showing a link to your app below your ad. Clicking on this link can either lead to your app’s description in the app store (Google Play or the Apple App Store), or simply begin downloading. Clicking on your ad’s headline will still lead to your website.”


Viewable Impressions: Pay only if your ad is viewed.

Q: What are viewable impressions?

A: An impression that has been viewed.

G: “If you’d like to pay only for ad impressions measured as viewable, you can with viewable cost-per-thousand impressions (viewable CPM). An ad is counted as “viewable” when 50 percent of your ad shows on screen for one second or longer for display ads and two seconds or longer for video ads. You can select Viewable CPM as a bid strategy when you choose CPM bidding for your “Display Network only” campaign.”


TrueView: A Cost per View format for Video.

Q: If you want to create and manage video campaigns in AdWords which format should you use?

A: TrueView (CPV).

G: “With TrueView ads, you don’t pay for random impressions or maybe-they-saw-its. The viewer has to choose to watch your video or there’s no charge.”


App Install Ad: An ad that shows up in Search and Display Networks.  The idea is to use AdWords to get the customer to download your app.

Q: What type of ad is an app install?

A: An ad that takes the user straight to the app store to download the app.

G: “With “Mobile app installs” campaigns on the Search and Display Networks, and “TrueView for mobile app promotion” on YouTube, you can create custom app install ads that run exclusively on phones and tablets. AdWords helps create your app install ads based on your app icon and reviews, and these ads take people straight to the app store to download your app. Using the mobile operating system for the app you choose, we can set up default targeting to find your most likely customers and focus on showing ads to people who don’t have your app yet.”


Lightbox Ad: These ads bring full screen creative and tell a brand story.

Q: What is a lightbox Ad?

A: A cross-screen expandable ad format that can be optimized for taps or swipes on mobile and for mouse-overs or clicks on desktops.

G: “Lightbox Ads bring full-screen creative to the scale of the web, helping engage consumers with your brand’s story. Beginning in standard, scalable ad units, they seamlessly expand into a near full-screen canvas that supports full rich-media capabilities. Embed a YouTube video, game or shopping experience in a Lightbox Ad to grab your customer’s attention. User engagement is qualified by letting users hover their cursors over the ad unit for two seconds before it expands.”


Showrooming: When customers go to the physical store to see the product but eventually buy online.

Q: What is showrooming?

A: The phenomenon of going into a brick and mortar store but buy through mobile.

Wiki: “Showrooming is the practice of examining merchandise in a traditional brick and mortar retail store or other offline setting, and then buying it online, sometimes at a lower price. Online stores often offer lower prices than their brick and mortar counterparts because they do not have the same overhead cost.”


Chapter 3: Video 

*Make sure to check my Video Ad Study Guides.

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TrueView: A Cost per View format for Video.

Q: If you want to create and manage video campaigns in AdWords which format should you use?

A: TrueView (CPV).

G: “With TrueView ads, you don’t pay for random impressions or maybe-they-saw-its. The viewer has to choose to watch your video or there’s no charge.”

Mobile Video Masthead: A homepage ad for YouTube.

Q: What is a mobile video mast head?

A: It is similar to the desktop video Masthead and will appear on the homepage of the Youtube mobile and tablet properties including  the Android native mobile app, the iOS app, and m.youtube.com.

G: “The mobile video Masthead is a homepage ad similar to the desktop video Masthead in that the format is based off of a YouTube video. It will appear on the homepage of all of the YouTube mobile and tablet properties, including the Android native mobile app, the iOS app, and m.youtube.com for smartphones and tablets. The unit features a video thumbnail, channel icon and name with optional customizable headline and description text. The length of the video will overlay the video thumbnail. When a user clicks on the video Masthead, they will go to the watch page for that video.”

Q: When you purchase YouTube Masthead you get 100% of voice where?

A: On desktop YouTube site, the YouTube mobile site, and the YouTube app.

Q: What are the only types of conversion for YouTube on mobile?

A: Conversions and view-through conversions.


Chapter 4: Conversions 

Conversion Tracker: A tool that can help you determine what happens after a customer clicks on your ads.  You can determine if that customer makes a purchase or downloads the app.

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Q: What tool shows you what happens after a customer clicks on your ad?  And what does this tool show?

A: Conversion tracker shows what happens after a customer clicks on your ad: did they make a purchase, did they download the app, or if they made a phone call.

G: “Conversion tracking is a free tool that shows you what happens after a customer clicks on your ads — whether they purchased your product, signed up for your newsletter or filled out a form to receive more information.”

Q: What are the only types of conversion for YouTube on mobile?

A: Conversions and view-through conversions.

Q: What should you do if conversion data shows that mobile drives more value to your business?

A: You should raise your mobile bid.

Q: What should you do if conversion data shows that desktop drives more value to your business?

A: You should lower your mobile bid.

Q: What are cross-device conversions?

A: They are a way to attribute your conversions.  They help you track conversions that wouldn’t ordinarily be tracked before in AdWords as they were attributed to another non-AdWords channel.

G: “Consumers learn about your business across multiple devices and screens, so you’ll want to attribute your conversions — online, in-store visits, or over the phone — to the right campaign or ad group. Cross-device conversions, a part of estimated total conversions, are tracked only for AdWords ads traffic on google.com and the Google Display Network at this time. Also, cross-device estimates aren’t compatible with imported goals from Google Analytics or imported offline conversion tracking.”

Q: What do Call Conversions help you do?

A: They help you understand the value that calls from ads provide.

Q: What is one option you can set up for Call Conversions?

A: You can set a minimum duration for the call to count as a conversion.

Q: What is a Google Forwarding number?

A:  A unique phone number from Google that you can use in your ads to help track calls to your business.

G: “Use call extensions or call-only ads with a Google forwarding number to help receive and track phone calls resulting from your ad.  Here’s how it works: Google provides a unique phone number that’s displayed with your ads. If a potential customer calls this phone number, AdWords will route the call to your business phone number. You’ll then be able to see detailed reports about calls generated from your ads.

Q: What does the Conversion Optimizer for apps do?

A: It takes into account dozens of signals and adjusts bids accordingly across both search and display inventory.

G: “Using historical information about your campaign, Conversion Optimizer automatically finds the optimal equivalent CPC bid for your ad each time it’s eligible to appear. You still pay per click, but you no longer need to adjust your bids manually to reach your conversion goals.”


Chapter 5: Tracking 

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Q: What do you need before you can track call conversions from ads or websites?

A: You need to add a call extension or call-only ad.

Q: An iOS app conversion tracking can be set up using what?

A: A lightweight SDK for Android and iOS apps. A server-to-server API option to notify AdWords of Android and iOS conversions and remarketing events from your analytics systems.  A comprehensive implementation checklist for third-party trackers.

Q: What is iOS App Install confirmation?

A: It is a feedback mechanism which enables customers to receive confirmation from Google whenever an iOS app install can be attributed to an AdWords ad click or view.

Q: Can an install confirmation feedback set an iOS app conversion tracking?

A: Yes.

Q: Can a codeless conversion tracking set an iOS app conversion tracking?

A: No.

G: “Customers often prefer to enjoy the benefits of code-less conversion tracking while still being able to report conversions in their chosen third-party tool.”

Q: How can you track app conversions?

A:  Integrate the Google SDK in your app or use Codeless Android Install Tracking or use an app analytics provider for your AdWords campaigns.

Q: Can you track app conversions with Javascript snippets to your website?

A: No.

Q: Why should the colds conversion tracking solution be used for app downloads on Android OS over SDK or server to server?

A: It is faster and is easy to implement.

Q: When you track conversions in your app, you use the SDK… what does SDK state for?

A: software development kit

Q: For what reasons would you use server to server app conversion tracking over a SDK?

G: “The AdWords Conversion Tracking SDK is a lightweight SDK with two main purposes. First, it allows you to measure the effectiveness of your AdWords app promotion campaigns. You can tag the events you’d like to track in your app, then log in to AdWords to see how many of these conversions are being driven by your advertising.”

Q: Do upgraded URLs help advertisers with 3rd Party conversions?

A: Yes.

Q: How do upgraded URLs help advertisers with 3rd Party conversions?

A:  It allows you to manage a single tracking URL at the campaign, ad group or ad level.  This URL will be separated from the landing page URL.

G: “You’re familiar with a destination URL—it’s the web address people click to get to your landing page. If you use tracking, you also use the destination URL field for tracking parameters and redirects to third-party tracking services. This upgrade replaces the destination URL field with a final URL field, and creates a new field for tracking management. If you don’t use tracking, you won’t need to change a thing.”

Q: How are App Downloads tracked?

A: They are tracked when a user downloads or installs a mobile application for the first time.

Q: Why would an app advertiser want to use a 3rd party company?

G: “An important aspect to mobile conversion is how to set up your apps so that you are tracking all conversion including signing up for purchases, phone calls, app downloads, newsletter sign-ups, and more. Depending on whether you have an Android or iOS app, we offer different solutions. See below to learn more about app conversion tracking and how to implement it on Android and iOS.”


Chapter 6: Engagement: 

App Remarketing: This allows you to target users who already installed your app.

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Q: Who does App remarking allow you to target?

A: People who have used your app before.

G: “App remarketing allows you to target users who already have your app installed with ads that can help drive additional usage. Some uses for app remarketing include:

Show app engagement ads announcing a new feature to current users of your app.

Remind users who had downloaded your app but haven’t been using it recently.

Encourage users to upgrade to the latest version of your app.”

Q: If you make video games is it smart to do remarking on your own game?

A: Yes.  If you want to promote a paid version of a game you can remarked to users above a certain level.

Q: What are some techniques to reengage users to your app?

A: You can build remarking lists, engage in proactive outreach, offer something unique, use deep linking, and track everything beyond installs to understand your most valuable users.

G: “There are many things you can do today to re-engage your customers. That is, identify who you want to re-engage, reach out to them with your existing channels (organic and paid), offer them something unique, measure results and repeat. Here is what you can do to bring users back to your app:

Build remarketing lists: Define in-app triggers (dropped out of purchase flow) or key segments (lapsed users, buyer) to target.

Proactive outreach: Consider available channels (e.g., e-mail, app push notifications, back of register tape) to re-engage.

Offer something unique: Leverage app to provide unique experience (e.g., in-store reward, exploding offers, discounts).

Deep-linking: Develop your app with this in mind; enables ads to direct customers into deeper, more targeted sections of app.

Tracking: Measure everything beyond installs, to understand your most valuable users and their behaviors.”

Q: How can you create remarking lists based on how frequently a customer uses the app?

A: Studying usage data.

G: “App remarketing allows you to target users who already have your app installed with ads that can help drive additional usage. usage_tracking_enabled=1 (required). This tells AdWords that you are sending app usage data, so that certain types of remarketing lists can be made available. Among other things, AdWords will assume that each user’s app version is up-to-date when it sees that usage is being regularly reported.”


Chapter 7: Ad Extensions 

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Q: What type of extension will allow your ad to appear within Google Maps for Mobile?

A: Location Extensions.

G: “Display ads on Google Maps: Display ads can show on Google Maps (including API versions of Google Maps) when your campaign includes location extensions.”

Q: What are some mobile ad extensions?

A: Sitelink Extensions; Call Extension; Location Extension; Offer Extension; App Extension.

Q: When is it better to use an app extension instead of an app promotion ad?

A: Use it if you want to drive app downloads but also want to give the user a chance to visit the mobile website.

Q: What are Sitelink Extensions?

A: They allow users to go directly to specific pages on your site.

G: “The sitelinks ad extension shows links to specific pages on your website beneath the text of your ads (and in addition to the main landing page), helping customers get to what they’re looking for on your site with just one click. Sitelinks appear in ads at the top and bottom of Google search results.”

Q: What can Location Extensions be used to do?

G: “Location extensions show your business address, phone number, and a map marker with your ad text; On mobile, they include a link with directions to your business.  Clicks on ads with location extensions cost a standard cost-per-click.


Chapter 8: Bidding: 

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Q: If you use a Flexible bid strategy what will happen?

A. It will automatically optimize your bids based on your Key Performance Indicator.

G: “Flexible bid strategies automatically set bids to optimize for your performance goals across specific campaigns, ad groups, and keywords.”

Q: If you value mobile traffic over desktop traffic what type of bid adjustment should you set?

A: Increase bid adjustment for mobile.

Q: What type of bidding can you do to improve the chance that your ad gets to the top?

A: Target search page location.

G: “Target search page location automatically adjusts bids to help you get your ads to the top of the page or the first page of search results.”

Q: What type of bidding is ideal for individuals who want to save time?

A: Automatic Bidding.

Q: Why is being on the top of a mobile page so important?

A: Ads above the results get more notice with the smaller mobile screens.


Chapter 9: Display Ads

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Q: For Display Network campaigns what tool do you want to use to provide you ideas and estimates?

A: Display Planner.

G: “Display Planner is a free AdWords tool that you can use to plan your Display Network ad campaigns. You’ll just need a few basic details to get started, like your customers’ interests or your landing page. Display Planner then generates targeting ideas along with impression estimates and historical costs to guide your plan.”

Q: How can you reach different categories of apps with in-app display ads?

A: Use a Display Network Campaign targeting mobile apps.

G: “If you want to reach certain categories of apps, or if you know the apps you want to target, you should create a Display Network campaign devoted to mobile apps. Learn more about these campaigns below under reaching specific apps or app categories in the Display Network.”

Q: Where does your ads show if your campaign is running on Display Networks?

A: It will automatically be eligible to show in mobile apps.


Chapter 10: Questions with Answers

*Explanations coming soon.


The mobile video Masthead is a homepage ad similar to the desktop video Masthead and will appear on the homepage of all of the YouTube mobile and tablet properties, including _____.

the Android mobile app and m.youtube.com

both the iOS and Android mobile apps

the Android native mobile app, the iOS app, and m.youtube.com

reserve in-stream ads

Correct Answer:  the Android native mobile app, the iOS app, and m.youtube.com

 

To find the right mobile bid, you would calculate:

(mobile conversion rate / desktop conversion rate) x 100

(desktop conversion rate/ mobile conversion rate) – 1

(mobile conversion rate / desktop conversion rate) + 1

(mobile conversion rate / desktop conversion rate) – 1

Correct Answer:  (mobile conversion rate / desktop conversion rate) – 1

 

If your campaign is running on the Display Network, your ads:

Are not eligible to show in mobile apps

Will only show on mobile apps that you select

Are automatically eligible to show in mobile apps

Are only eligible to show in specific mobile apps

Correct Answer:  Are automatically eligible to show in mobile apps

 

Select the one way NOT to track app conversions.

Using an app analytics provider for your AdWords campaigns

Integrate the Google SDK in your app

Add a Javascript snippet to your website

Using Codeless Android Install tracking

Correct Answer: Add a Javascript snippet to your website

 

The Mobile App Analytics Behavior reports give you data about:

The detailed ways users of your app interact with other users of your app

The detailed ways users interact with your app

How many people have downloaded your app through a referral from a friend

In-app user satisfaction ratings

Correct Answer: The detailed ways users interact with your app

 

Automatic bidding is ideal for advertisers who:

Want to set their own bids for individual keywords

Want to save time managing bids based on hundreds of signals

Don’t want to spend a lot of time managing keywords

Want to set their own bids for individual ad groups

Correct Answer: Don’t want to spend a lot of time managing keywords

 

 When you use a flexible bid strategy, it will automatically optimize your bids based on:

Your search terms data

Your remarketing list

Your Quality Score

Your performance KPI (Key Performance Indicator)

Correct Answer: Your performance KPI (Key Performance Indicator)

 

The codeless conversion tracking solution is usually recommended for app downloads on Android OS over SDK or server to server solution when speed and ease of implementation is a priority.

False

True

Correct Answer: true

 

Which flexible bid strategy might help improve the chances that your ad gets to the top of the page?

Target return on ad spend (ROAS)

Target outranking share

Target search page location

Target cost-per-acquisition (CPA)

Correct Answer: Target search page location

 

You can use a mobile specific display URL to:

Show consumers that you are a large brand

Differentiate yourself from other advertisers

Effectively track conversions to your desktop site

Indicate that you have a mobile-friendly landing page

Correct Answer: Indicate that you have a mobile-friendly landing page

 

________ is a tool that can show you what happens after a customer clicks on your ads; whether they made a purchase, downloaded an app, or called your business.

Keyword planner

Sitelinks

App extensions

Conversion tracking

Correct Answer: Conversion tracking

 

 50% of purchase-related conversions happened within ______ of the mobile searches that initiated them.

half-an-hour

two hours

one hour

Correct Answer: one hour

 

 Which of the following is NOT true about an app URL scheme?

The scheme is a part of the link that identifies which app to open Schemes are automatically set up when you create your app

Typically the website name appears in reverse; e.g., example.com becomes com.example as a scheme

You can use “http” or a custom scheme that can start with the app or website name

Correct Answer: Schemes are automatically setup when you create your app

 

Which is a benefit of using server-to-server app conversion tracking over an SDK?

If not implemented correctly, adding the SDK and conversion tracking code could result in bugs in the app

Server-to-server connections are easier to set up than code-less conversion tracking

Adding SDK and conversion tracking changes to your app doesn’t require review by the Google Play Store

Adding multiple SDKs for various advertising or analytics platforms have no impact on app code file-size

Correct Answer: If not implemented correctly, adding the SDK and conversion tracking code could result in bugs in the app

 

What is the most common way for advertisers to monetize their app?

Ad buys Driving traffic to their mobile website to complete purchase

In-app purchases

Charging for app downloads from the Apple iTunes or Google Play store

Correct Answer: In-app purchases

 

  Where can app ads run?

Only on Admob

Only on the Google Play store

Within other apps, also known as in-app

Across Display, Search, and YouTube

Correct Answer: Across Display, Search, and YouTube

 

 Mobile presents an opportunity for a more targeted marketing message because you have an understanding of context such as time, location, and proximity of the customer.

True

False

Correct Answer: true

 

 App remarketing allows you to target people who:

Have used your app before

Have searched for your app

Have searched for apps similar to yours

Have never used your app before

Correct Answer:  Have used your app before

 

With YouTube Mastheads you can get 100% share of voice, not just on the desktop YouTube site, but also across screens with:

The AdWords mobile site and YouTube app

The YouTube mobile site and the YouTube app

Video Search on Google The

YouTube mobile site and Google Play App

Correct Answer: The YouTube mobile site and the YouTube app

 

An advertiser with stores throughout the country could use Location Extension Targeting to:

Target users in the same way across all of their locations

Decrease bids by 50% for users who are within 10 miles of their stores

Target users who are within 20 miles of one particular city in the country

Target users who are within 10 miles of one particular city in the country

Correct Answer: Target users in the same way across all of their locations

 

 Viewable impressions:

Allow you to only pay for video ads that are viewed within an hour

Allow you to only pay for those ads that are actually viewed

Allow you to pay for ads that are viewed and also converted

Correct Answer:  Allow you to pay for ads when they are displayed in a viewable position

 

Which of the following is the main reason an app advertiser would want to use a 3rd party conversion tracking company?

To have a single SDK to add to your app instead of one from each ad network

To receive reporting on basic usage analytics

To have more control when communicating with each ad network

To see which of an app’s new users came from recent advertising clicks or views

Correct Answer: To see which of an app’s new users came from recent advertising clicks or views

 

 If you want to reach certain categories of apps with in-app display ads, or if you know the apps you want to target, you should:

Enable Active View reporting

Create a Display Network campaign targeted to mobile apps

Go to “Campaign Exclusions” from the Display Network tab

Create a placement inclusion for mobile apps

Correct Answer: Create a placement inclusion for mobile apps

 

An advertiser would NOT use AdWords’ mobile offering to:

Engage with users who have already downloaded their app

Track conversions once a user downloads their app

Build a mobile-optimized website

Advertise their app

Correct Answer: Build a mobile-optimized website

 

A ______ specifies a location in an app that corresponds to the content you’d like to show.

location link

location extension

deep link

remarketing link

Correct Answer:  deep link

 

Assuming you are not using any bid adjustment and you value mobile traffic over desktop, which bid adjustment should you set?

Increase bid adjustment for mobile

Increase bid adjustment for tablets

Increase bid adjustment for desktop

Increase bid adjustment for mobile and desktop

Correct Answer: Increase bid adjustment for mobile

 

Which of the following is true about apps?

Apps are more geared towards retention, loyalty, and engagement

Apps are more geared towards acquisition purposes

Once a user downloads an app, they are likely to return and engage with it

Correct Answer: Apps are more geared towards retention, loyalty, and engagement

 

 What time of day does mobile usage generally peak?

Evening hours when people are at home

During working hours

Morning and evening when people are commuting to work

Spread evenly throughout the day

Correct Answer: Evening hours when people are at home

 

How do upgraded URLs help advertisers with 3rd party conversion tracking?

Manage a single tracking URL at the campaign, ad group or ad level that is separate from the landing page URL

Show app install ads only to people who haven’t downloaded the app yet

Show deep link URLs only to people who already have the app

Allow advertisers to direct users to the app store to download their app

Correct Answer: Manage a single tracking URL at the campaign, ad group or ad level that is separate from the landing page

 

According to a Nielsen study, what percentage of purchase-related conversions happened within an hour of the mobile searches that initiated them?

0.5 or 50%

0.25 or 25%

0%

0.75 or 75%

Correct Answer: 0.5 or 50%

 

Deep-linking allows:

Desktop users to be able to access deeper, more targeted sections within a mobile app

Ads to direct customers into deeper, more targeted sections of the app

Ads to direct new customers only into deeper, more targeted sections of the app

Mobile and desktop users to navigate within a mobile app

Correct Answer: Ads to direct customers into deeper, more targeted sections of the app

 

With a business in an eligible country, advertisers can use website call conversions to track  calls to a Google Forwarding number on their site from users who arrived there from any source

True

False

Answer is – False

 

Once an advertiser opts in to advertise with our search partners (the default setting) in their campaign network settings, they should use _______ to have their ads populate within Google Maps for Mobile.

product extensions

Location extensions

mobile extensions

store visit extensions

Correct Answer: Location extensions

 

App Downloads are conversions that are tracked when a user downloads or installs a mobile application for the first time.

False

True

Correct Answer: True

 

To understand the full value of mobile, you must take into account:

Cross device and mobile conversions

App downloads, calls, store visits, cross device conversion, mobile conversions

Utilization of mobile ad formats, extensions, app and mobile site design best practices

Mobile conversions

Correct Answer: App downloads, calls, store visits, cross device conversion, mobile conversions

 

A(n) ____ gives your app users the ability to open your app directly from other apps by clicking a link.

app index

website deep link

custom deep link

Correct Answer:  Custom deep link

 

Which of the following is incorrect about AdWords cross-device conversions?

Cross-device conversions help advertisers understand the device that received the last ad click before the conversion

Cross-device conversions do not track from desktop to mobile conversions, it only tracks mobile to desktop conversions

Cross-device conversions help advertisers track conversions that couldn’t be tracked before in AdWords since they were attributed to another non-AdWords channel like organic search or direct

Correct Answer: Cross-device conversions do not track from desktop to mobile conversions, it only tracks mobile to desktop conversions

 

iOS app conversion tracking cannot be set up using:

SDK

Install confirmation feedback

Server-to-server (S2S)

Codeless conversion tracking

Correct Answer: Codeless conversion tracking

 

Which of the following is true about apps?

The number of app installs on Android tablets is increasing

Most smartphone users download apps on a weekly basis

The majority of Android apps have been downloaded

Once a customer downloads an app, they will be likely to return

Answer  is- Most smartphone users download apps on a weekly basis

 

An app developer might use remarketing if they wanted to promote a paid version of their game to all users of the free version who reached Level 10 of the game.

True

False

Correct Answer: true

 

Admob is ____.

an ad extension

a custom deep link an app promotion ad format

AdWords’ non-owned and operated mobile app inventory

An app promotion ad format

Correct Answer: AdWords’ non-owned and operated mobile app inventory

 

Usage data allows advertisers to:

Create remarketing lists based on how frequently or infrequently a customer is using their app

Create a conversion tracking list and add it to their app

Change bid adjustments based on mobile traffic

Add the conversion tracking tag to their app

Correct Answer: Create remarketing lists based on how frequently or infrequently a customer is using their app

 

When conversion data shows that mobile drives more value, you would _____ your mobile bid. When conversion data shows that desktop drives more value, you would ______ your mobile bid.

raise,

lower raise,

raise lower,

lower

Correct Answer: raise,lower

 

_______ are a type of ad format that show extra information about your business.

App installs

Ad extensions

Deep link

ad extensions

Correct Answer: ad extensions

 

Which of the following is NOT a type of mobile ad extension?

App extension

Call extension

Sitelink extension

Download extension

Correct Answer: Download extension

 

What is an app engagement ad?

A customized ad shown to users who already have the app in order to drive them back to the app

A templated “engagement” image ad which allows you to add more text or information to your ad

An ad which uses cookies to appear to users who have already downloaded an app

An app extension which shows a link to your app below your ad

Correct Answer: A customized ad shown to users who already have the app in order to drive them back to the app

 

Sitelink extensions:

Decrease CTR rates as users are sent to specific pages of your site

Allow advertisers to give users the option to land directly on specific pages of your site

Show your business address, phone number, and a map marker with your ad text

Allow targeted remarketing list users to land directly on specific pages of your site

Correct Answer: Allow advertisers to give users the option to land directly on specific pages of your site

 

 When should an advertiser use an app extension instead of an app promotion ad?

With keywords intended to drive app download, but still give the option to visit the mobile website

With keywords intended to direct users to the mobile website, but still give the option to download the app

To re-engage with users who have already downloaded the app

To run your ad on both Search and Display

Correct Answer: With keywords intended to direct users to the mobile website, but still give the option to download the app

 

Many successful mobile sites have large “touch targets” for clicking that take into account ______.

location where mobile is being used

time of day

responsive design based on touch

the lack of precision on a touch screen

Correct Answer: the lack of precision on a touch screen

 

  In AdWords, you can create and manage video campaigns by using ___.

“mobile app engagement” campaigns

“mobile app installs” campaigns

the TrueView family of cost-per-view (CPV) video ad formats

“Masthead video” campaigns

Correct Answer: TrueView family of cost-per-view (CPV) video ad formats

 

The two types of conversions for YouTube on mobile are:

Promotion views and engagement views

Promotion views and view-through conversions

Conversions and view-through conversions

Download views and engagement conversions

Correct Answer: Conversions and view-through conversions

 

 iOS App Install confirmation is a feedback mechanism which enables customers to receive confirmation from Google every time an iOS app install event can be attributed to an AdWords ad click or view. Why would an advertiser use this solution?

The advertiser is interested in cross-device conversions.

This is the only availabe method of conversion tracking for iOS.

The advertiser wants to count calls as conversions.

The advertiser is using an in-house or third party app analytics system.

Correct Answer: The advertiser is using an in-house or third party app analytics system

 

 An advertiser with shops throughout the country could use the location extension targeting to:

Target users who are within 10 miles of one particular city in the country

Target users who are within 20 miles of one particular city in the country

Target users the same way across all of their locations

Decrease bid by 50% for users who are 10 miles of their stores

Correct Answer: Target users the same way across all of their locations

 

 Auto exclusions allow:

Google’s mobile app promotion template ads to be automatically excluded from showing to users who have already downloaded the advertisers app

Google’s mobile app promotion template ads to automatically include showing to users who have already downloaded the advertisers app

Google advertisers to exclude high install pricing

Google advertisers to exclude automatic bidding within their mobile app

Answer is –Google’s mobile app promotion template ads to be automatically excluded from showing to users who have already downloaded the advertisers app

 

Which of the following is true about mobile optimized sites?

Mobile websites should only focus on task-based functionality, i.e. be a stripped-down version of the desktop site

Mobile-friendly experiences typically feature easy navigation, quick-to-load images, and streamlined text

Visitors to your mobile-optimized site will be at the same point in the purchase funnel as visitors to your desktop site

You should build your app before your mobile site

Correct Answer:  Mobile-friendly experiences typically feature easy navigation, quick-to-load images, and streamlined text

 

 The App Overview report is a summary of the most salient data from all of the Mobile App Analytics reports. Use this report to:

Gain insight into your competitor’s strategies

Review data about your users’ names, addresses, and income brackets

Assess the general health of your app and to follow data trends

Review the code for your app and SDKs

Correct Answer: Assess the general health of your app and to follow data trends

 

 To track conversion in an app, you can add the AdWords Conversion Tracking SDK to your app. SDK stands for:

Schema Development Key

Software Deprecation Kit

Software Development Kit

Schema Development Kit

Correct Answer:  Software Development Kit

 

 Call Conversions help advertisers understand the value that calls from their ads are driving by counting calls of a minimum duration to a Google forwarding number as conversions.

True

False

Correct Answer:  true

 

 Showing your ads on top of the mobile page in search results is beneficial because:

Ads above the results get more prominent notice with desktop screens. There are also no ads on the right-hand side of the results on mobile

Ads below the results get more prominent notice with smaller mobile screens. There are also ads on the right-hand side of the results on mobile

Ads above the results get more prominent notice with larger mobile screens. There are also no ads on the right-hand side of the results on mobile

Ads above the results might get more prominent notice with smaller mobile screens. There are also no ads on the right-hand side of the results on mobile

Correct Answer:  Ads above the results might get more prominent notice with smaller mobile screens. There are also no ads on the right-hand side of the results on mobile

 

Showrooming refers to:

The phenomenon which turns brick and mortar stores into showrooms for products which are then purchased online or via mobile

The phenomenon where various brands within similar categories compete for brand placement on a mobile device

The phenomenon where brands sell specialty or limited quantity goods through mobile

The phenomenon which turns brick and mortar stores into showroom apps for mobile users

Correct Answer: The phenomenon which turns brick and mortar stores into showrooms for products which are then purchased online or via mobile

 

 The conversion optimizer for apps allows:

AdWords to automatically take into account dozens of signals (location, time of day, CTR, device, etc) and adjusts bids accordingly across search and display inventory to help advertisers hit their desired Cost Per Click goal

AdWords to automatically take into account dozens of signals (location, time of day, CTR, device, etc) and adjusts bids accordingly across search and display inventory with the goal of helping Advertisers hit their desired Cost Per Installs

AdWords to automatically take into account dozens of signals (location, time of day, CTR, device, etc) and adjusts bids accordingly across just search inventory to help advertisers hit their desired Cost Per Install goal

AdWords to automatically take into account dozens of signals (location, time of day, CTR, device, etc) and adjusts bids accordingly across search and display inventory to help advertisers hit their desired Cost Per Impression goal

Correct Answer: AdWords to automatically take into account dozens of signals (location, time of day, CTR, device, etc) and adjusts bids accordingly across just search inventory to help advertisers hit their desired Cost Per Install goal

 

 A mobile app is an application that can be downloaded and installed on your mobile device or rendered within a browser.

True

False

Correct Answer: False

 

 Advertisers can use Website Call Conversions to track calls to a Google forwarding number on their site from users who arrived there from any source.

False

True

Correct Answer: True

 

Setting up Mobile App Analytics requires:

The “Edit” permission for a Google Analytics account and technical knowledge of your app development environment

A substantial number of app installs or conversions

A working knowledge of mobile click attribution technologies

Correct Answer: A substantial number of app installs or conversions

 

 The Mobile App Analytics Acquisition reports give you data about:

How your users spend time outside of your app

Which type of targeting has the lowest cost-per-acquisition

How much data your app has acquired

How often your mobile apps are installed and opened

Correct Answer: How often your mobile apps are installed and opened

 

What is a lightbox ad?

A cross-screen expandable ad format that optimizes for taps/swipes on mobile and mouse-overs/clicks on desktops

A remarketing specific ad format to announce new features of your app

A type of ad format that shows extra information (“extending” from your text ads) about your business

A mobile text ad Bottom of Form

Correct Answer: A cross-screen expandable ad format that optimizes for taps/swipes on mobile and mouse-overs/clicks on desktops

 

  What will you need before you can set up conversion tracking for calls from an ad or from a website?

A mobile specific site-link extension

An app published in the Google Play store

An active call extension or call-only ad

A sales team and operating phone bank

Correct Answer: an active call extension or call-only ad.

 

What is an app install ad?

An ad format for advertisers to re-engage with users who have already downloaded the app

An app extension which shows a link to your app below your ad

A templated way to create text, banner, image, and interstitial ads driving users to the Google Play store

A type of targeting used to match your ads to sites or pages based on the keywords or topics you’ve chosen

Correct Answer: An app extension which shows a link to your app below your ad

 

Third-party analytics companies can reduce complication for advertisers by providing them only one SDK to add to their apps.

False

True

Correct Answer: true

 

To re-engage users with an app, use the following strategies:

Build remarketing lists, engage in reactive outreach, offer something free, and don’t track anything outside of installs

Build remarketing lists, engage in reactive outreach, use deep linking, and track outside of installs for your most valuable users

Build general email lists, engage in reactive outreach, don’t use deep linking, and don’t track outside of installs

Build remarketing lists, engage in proactive outreach, offer something unique, use deep linking, and track everything beyond installs to understand your most valuable users

Correct Answer: Build remarketing lists, engage in proactive outreach, offer something unique, use deep linking, and track everything beyond installs to understand your most valuable users

 

The path to conversion on mobile is not the same as on desktop or tablet due to ALL of the following EXCEPT:

Functionality

Intent

Differing screen size

Context

Correct Answer: Intent

 

For someone who wants to run a display network campaign, which tool is the best suited for providing targeting ideas and estimates:

Display Keyword Planner

Display AD Builder

Display Planner

Display Ad Preview and Diagnosis

Answer – Display Planner


Chapter 11: Questions without Answers

What will you need before you can set up conversion tracking for calls from an ad or from a website?

For someone who wants to run a Display Network campaign, which tool is best suited for providing targeting ideas and estimates?

Deep-linking allows for what?

What is the most common way for advertisers to monetize their app?

Describe a mobile app is an application that can be downloaded and installed on your mobile device or rendered within a browser.

What time of day does mobile usage generally peak?

To understand the full value of mobile, you must take into account what factors?

To find the right mobile bid, you would calculate how?

What is a tool that can show you what happens after a customer clicks on your ads; whether they made a purchase, downloaded an app, or called your business?

The Mobile App Analytics Acquisition report gives you data about what?

Can advertisers can use Website Call Conversions to track calls to a Google forwarding number on their site from users who arrived there from any source?

App remarketing allows you to target people who do what?

If your campaign is running on the Display Network, your ads will…?

The Mobile App Analytics Behavior reports give you data about what?

App Downloads are conversions that are tracked when a user downloads or installs a mobile application for the first time do what?

The codeless conversion tracking solution is usually recommended for app downloads on Android OS over SDK or server to server solution when speed and ease of implementation is a priority

Once an advertiser opts in to advertise with our each partners (the default setting) in their campaign network settings, they should use what to have their ads populate within Google Maps for Mobile?

Describe one way NOT to track app conversions?

iOS app conversion tracking cannot be set up using what?

When using a flexible bid strategy, it will automatically optimize your bids based on what criteria?

What is an app engagement ad?

Admob is?

Many successful mobile sites have large “touch targets” for clicking that take into account what?

The two types of conversions for YouTube on mobile are?

The App Overview report is a summary of the most salient data from all of the Mobile App Analytics reports. Use this report to do what?

50% of purchase-related conversions happened within what time period of the mobile searches that initiated them?

What are a type of ad format that show extra information about your business?

When conversion data shows that mobile drives more value, you would increase/decrease your mobile bid. When conversion data shows that desktop drives more value, you would increase/decrease your mobile bid.

You can use a mobile specific display URL to do what?

Does mobile present an opportunity for a more targeted marketing message because you have an understanding of context such as time, location, and proximity of the customer?

Which of the following is true about mobile optimized sites?

The conversion optimizer for apps allows what?

Can a website deep link gives your app users the ability to open your app directly from other apps by clicking a link?

The path to conversion on mobile is not the same as on desktop or tablet why?

An app developer might use remarketing if they wanted to promote a paid version of their game to all users of the free version who reached Level 10 of the game how?

Viewable impressions are what?

The mobile video Masthead is a homepage ad similar to the desktop video Masthead and will appear on the homepage of all of the YouTube mobile and tablet properties, including what?

In AdWords, you can create and manage video campaigns by using what?

Which of the following is true about apps?

What is an app install ad?

To track conversion in an app, you can add the AdWords Conversion Tracking SDK to your app. SDK stands for?

If you want to reach certain categories of apps with in-app display ads, or if you know the apps you want to target, you should do what?

Assuming you are not using any bid adjustment and you value mobile traffic over desktop, which bid adjustment should you set?

Setting up Mobile App Analytics requires what?

To re-engage users with an app, using what strategies?

What is a benefit of using server-to-server app conversion tracking over an SDK?

Which flexible bid strategy might help improve the chances your ad gets to the top of the page?

Which of the following is NOT true about an app URL scheme?

Where can app ads run?

When should an advertiser use an app extension instead of an app promotion ad?

With YouTube Mastheads you can get 100% share of voice, not just on the desktop YouTube site, but also across screens with?

What is a lightbox ad?

Showrooming refers to?

Which of the following is incorrect about AdWords cross-device conversions?

Which of the following is true about apps?

An advertiser would NOT use AdWords’ mobile offering to?

Which of the following is the main reason an app advertiser would want to use a 3rd party conversion tracking company?

Usage data allows advertisers to?

iOS App Install confirmation is a feedback mechanism which enables customers to receive confirmation from Google every time an iOS app install can be attributed to an AdWords ad click or view. Why would an advertiser use this solution?

Automatic bidding is ideal for advertisers who?

Call Conversions help advertisers understand the value that calls from their ads are driving by counting calls of a minimum duration to a Google forwarding number as conversions?

A ????? specifies a location in an app that corresponds to the content you’d like to show?

Third-party analytics companies can reduce complication for advertisers by providing them only one SDK to their apps?

Which of the following is NOT a type of mobile ad extension?

How do upgraded URLs help advertisers with 3rd party conversion tracking?

According to a Nielsen study, what percentage of purchase-related conversions happened within an hour of the mobile searches that initiated them?

Showing your ads on top of the mobile page in search results is beneficial because?

Auto exclusions allow?

An advertiser with stores throughout the country could use the Location Extension Targeting to?

Sitelink extensions are?

In AdWords, you can create and manage video campaigns targeting mobile devices by using what?

Which of the following is a way for an advertiser to monetize their app?

With a business in an eligible country, does call conversions help advertisers understand the value that calls from their ads are driving by counting calls of a minimum duration to a Google forwarding number as conversions?

Can third-party analytics companies can reduce complication for advertisers by providing them only one SDK to add to their apps?

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